Be Here Then

why and how to write & create an ethical will, hospice card, or other legacy

More examples for your own hospice card ideas

As promised in the first post on the hospice card theme on the 24th, here are a few more ideas of what I might like to hear from among my very varied friends (and consider writing your own legacy letter or ethical will, as well.)

orangeflowerBHT“My dear friend! It wasn’t supposed to be like this, was it? Never in a million years did we think we wouldn’t get to be old folks together, rocking out and scandalizing the neighborhood! Now who will I be misbehaving with? I love you! You have always, always made me laugh, and I am so very grateful for you in my life. I’m sending you a huge hug and here’s a picture of our first bloom of that flower you love so much.”

phyl&meLaG“Yesterday I was thinking of you and me, that time we got ourselves in hot water because of you-know-what. I told the kids the story and they laughed themselves silly. Of course, I didn’t tell them the part about you-know-what-else. Maybe when they’re older I can tell them that part! But I have lots of stories to tell them about us, and what friendship means. I want you to know I’ll be telling those stories as long as I live.”

variation on the theme:
“I told my kids last week that story about how you and I got ourselves into some hot water when we were younger. They loved it! Of course, I left out the part about –. Maybe when they’re older I’ll tell them that part, too. Mostly I like telling them stories about you because it makes you feel close by. I wish I could be closer by you these days.”

“At first you wrote, and then you read;
I loved your work, you know I said.
You wrote me back a note; it’s true
I lost the note, but still love you.”

“I miss you now, I’ll miss you worse later. You better haunt me! If I find a fountain pen, I’ll know it was you, especially if it leaks on me! This really, really sucks. Thinking of you every day, sending you my love.”

“I’m not big on words, but I am big on friendship, and yours has been just about the best one anybody could ask for. Thanks. You’re on my mind and always in my heart.”

So what are your ideas? What would you like to read, and from whom? Start here, and you can be sure to come up with some wonderful words of your own for a hospice card, whether you buy a blank card or make your own.

Single Post Navigation

Let us know what you think!

